Subscribe
Ecology
< << October 2017 > >>
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1
2
Project WET
3
River Reborn
4
Project WET
5
FIELD TRIP
6
conservation
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
grounwater
17
porosity vs permeability
18
aquifer
19
Water in AZ
20
groundwater pumping
21
22
23
groundwater pumping
24
Guest Speaker
25
Verde River Article
26
Guest Speaker
27
28
29
30
31
Events
Thursday 8/3/2017
Welcome! First Day of school.

Procesdures and syllabus 

HW: Sign syllabus

Friday 8/4/2017
Procedures and Lab Rules

Rules and procedures. Get you know you.

Assignment: Make goals on hand 

Monday 8/7/2017
Pre-Test

pre-test

Tuesday 8/8/2017
Scientific Method

Intro to Cornell Notes 10 minutes

Brainstorm scientific method 5 minutes

Observation vs Inference 10 minutes

Whiteboard activity 5 minutes

Write difference between observation, inference and prediction 5 minutes

Wednesday 8/9/2017
Hypothesis

 

Highlight main ideas notes

Write hypothesis

Prediction vs hypothesis

variables-notes

Thursday 8/10/2017
Lab

Highlight main ideas in notes

Egg Lab

Friday 8/11/2017
Lab write up

Write up Egg Lab

Scientific Method Quiz

Monday 8/14/2017
Levels of Organization

List biotic vs abiotic

Write/define levels of organization

draw out levels of a population

Tuesday 8/15/2017
Ecology

 Notes: ecologist

Partner Share earth as a system

Vocab: richness vs evenness

Wednesday 8/16/2017
Species richness

Collect Data

Conlusion: HW

Thursday 8/17/2017
Biodiversity changed over time

Read article about biodiversity and answer questions

Article: 6th mass extinction

Highlight and write out main ideas

Friday 8/18/2017
Biodiversity at the tropics

Extinction 6 minute video

Reasons for high biodiversity in the tropics article/jigsaw

Monday 8/21/2017
change in biodiveristy

Read change in biodiverity and answer question on WS 

Tuesday 8/22/2017
6th extinction

Turn in Change in Biodivisity WS 

Read article about 6th extinction

Wednesday 8/23/2017
biodiversity hotspot

Answer questions from 6th extinction in notes:

1. What was the study about?

2. Reason for decreasing species richness?

3. Results of the study

 

Video notes on biodiverity hotspot 

Thursday 8/24/2017
High biodiversity in tropics

jigsaw tropics article. 8 reasons put in notes. 

Friday 8/25/2017
Levels of biodiverity

notes on latitude gradient

genetic variation video

Reading/notes: levels of biodiverity

Notecheck 

Monday 8/28/2017
3 types of biodiversity

1. Progress report: all missing work due Friday.

Highlight and read article about 3 types of biodiveristy. Answer questions about the article into notebook.

 

Monday 8/28/2017
variation in species

Mouse activity---see me for WS 

Tuesday 8/29/2017
Variation in species

1. Variation video: take notes

2. Genetic variation pocket mice activity: Turn in answers WS 

Wednesday 8/30/2017
Ecosystem services

Activity: group ecosystem services into a groups and compare to actual list. 

Thursday 8/31/2017
Ecosystem services

1. Read/notetake ecosystem services article 

2. Ecosystem service video

3. Highlight notes

Friday 9/1/2017
Costs and Benefits to services

1. How much is clean water worth Article

2. Notes on why conserve. 

Monday 9/4/2017
No School
Tuesday 9/5/2017
Threats to biodiversity

Notes: Threats to biodiveristy

Brainstorm, PPT notes, video, share notes

Wednesday 9/6/2017
Conservation and restoration

Read "10 most threatened hotspots" article and add to notes from 9/5

Notes: conservation. Watch videos and add to notes

Thursday 9/7/2017
Hot spot research

Research your hotspot. Fill out WS. 

Friday 9/8/2017
Write hotspot paper

With research, write hotspot paper using intext citation. Follow research WS/rubric. 

Monday 9/11/2017
Research paper

Finish works cited page and intext citations. Print and turn in papers. 

Tuesday 9/12/2017
Biodiversity review

Review Biodiveristy---fill out WS review guide. 

Wednesday 9/13/2017
Biodiversity TEST

TEST 

Thursday 9/14/2017
Guest Speaker

Audobon Society  guest speaker: birding 

Friday 9/15/2017
Trout Observation and water testing

1. Observe Eggs/Sketch and color eggs.

2. Test Water. Record Data. 

Monday 9/18/2017
Human values toward wildlife

Progress Resports

Wildlife on the Brink WS: Reading, video notes, and discussion. See me WS 

Tuesday 9/19/2017
Bison--near extinction

Story of the bison---reading, video, math problem. 

See me for the reading WS packet. 

Wednesday 9/20/2017
Prairie--threatened

Finish Bison reading

Prairie info. 

Test Trout Water

Thursday 9/21/2017
Conservation movement

Changing the Tides WS: reading, video, and discussion. See me for WS packet. 

Friday 9/22/2017
Major conservation events

Important events to wildlife conservation WS ---see me for WS

America's wildlife activity---add to notes 9/21

Observe eggs (in trout WS packet)

Add to climograph 

 

Monday 9/25/2017
conservation timeline

In groups put together conservation timeline at lab

Fill out timeline reflection WS. Turn in WS tomorrow. 

Tuesday 9/26/2017
Conservationists

Notes on conservation laws

Non-profit notes

research a conservationist--WS 

Wednesday 9/27/2017
Rachel Carson

Read forward and chpt 1 of Silent Spring

DDT reading

Discussion of Ms. Carson's role in enviro laws

Thursday 9/28/2017
DDT and national parks

Video on pesticides and DDT

Video on natioanl parks: america's best idea

Friday 9/29/2017
Project WET training 1

training for next week's field trip. 

Monday 10/2/2017
Project WET
Tuesday 10/3/2017
River Reborn

video and notes on the restoration of Fossil Creek 

Wednesday 10/4/2017
Project WET
Thursday 10/5/2017
FIELD TRIP

Periods 1-4, return end of lunch 

Friday 10/6/2017
conservation

discuss rachel carson and discuss conservation history. Take quiz.  monitor fish. 

Monday 10/16/2017
grounwater

intro to water cycle, read 1 "Groundwater"

notes: water

Tuesday 10/17/2017
porosity vs permeability

set up aquifer lab

porosity and permeability notes

porosity and permeability lab 

Wednesday 10/18/2017
aquifer

reading 2 and 3

finish aquifer lab

Thursday 10/19/2017
Water in AZ

Read article: who manages water in AZ---see me for article

Answer questions on WS 

Friday 10/20/2017
groundwater pumping

verde video---5 min. 

verde map---review watershed 

Effects of groundwater pumping USGS video 

Monday 10/23/2017
groundwater pumping

verde river map

USGS video about pumping

Water for Wildlife article Reading and WS---due tomorrow

Tuesday 10/24/2017
Guest Speaker

Chris Jenson speaks about verde river

Wednesday 10/25/2017
Verde River Article

Quiz

Verde Video: 10 min. 

Verde Article 

Thursday 10/26/2017
Guest Speaker

ASU: sustainability