Subscribe
Living Systems
< << December 2018 > >>
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
Events
Wednesday 12/13/2017
angiosperm

observe and sketch pollen 

notes on success of seeds producing plants

Thursday 12/14/2017
monocot vs dicot

Notes: classify angiosperms

go to field and dig up two plants

In lab sketch differences between monocot and dicots. 

Friday 12/15/2017
classify angiosperm

woody vs herbaceous

Mini-lab: transect counting plant types

Monday 12/18/2017
plant lab

collect last measurments and write up lab report 

Tuesday 12/19/2017
plant review

page 525 #1-25

Wednesday 12/20/2017
Review

review packet 

Thursday 12/21/2017
Final exam periods 1,3,5
Friday 12/22/2017
Final exam periods 2,4,6
Monday 1/8/2018
Plant Organs

Topic: plant parts

Notes. 

Tuesday 1/9/2018
Plant Tissues

Topic: plant tissues

Notes/reading about stomata. 

Wednesday 1/10/2018
Vascular LAB

Lab---see me to make up lab. 

Thursday 1/11/2018
Meristematic cell

Notes: Meristematic

Draw apical meristim. 

LAB: Microscope: look at root growth. Sketch. 

Friday 1/12/2018
Stem

Notes: stem

Read and highlight structure of a stem. 

Label branch/sketch into notebook. 

Monday 1/15/2018
No school: MLK day
Tuesday 1/16/2018
Stem anatomy

Mini-root lab---check root length

Notes: stem

Stems: draw and label branch, notes on wood formation 

Wednesday 1/17/2018
Tuber Lab

Finish Stem notes

Set up tuber lab, check roots. 

Thursday 1/18/2018
Plant Review

review WS packet

Friday 1/19/2018
review plant

review plant WS packet due

finish root lab

Monday 1/22/2018
Life cycle of gymnosperms

Fill out diagram. In notes write summary of gymnosperm life cycle. 

Tuesday 1/23/2018
Life cycle of angiosperms

Fill out diagram. Read and add to diagram. Write summary of life cycle in notes. Answer questions in notes. 

Wednesday 1/24/2018
Flower LAB

flower lab 

Thursday 1/25/2018
plant review

review packet

Friday 1/26/2018
plant test

test

Monday 1/29/2018
Persuasive Essay

read 4 articles and highlight pros and cons for GMOS. Pick a side and write thesis statement. 

Tuesday 1/30/2018
Persuasive Essay

Notebook check

Test make up

type up persuasive essay

Wednesday 1/31/2018
Persuasive Essay

Type up  paper.

Progress reports passed out. Missing work due this friday. (notebook check was done yesterday)

Thursday 2/1/2018
Persuasive Essay

finish essay and turn in. Due tomorrow. 

Friday 2/2/2018
Test corrections

If not done with paper. 

Test corrections.

DUE: Progress report signed with all missing work from first 3 weeks. 

Monday 2/5/2018
animalia kingom

Topic: Animalia Kingdom

EQ: Explain the characteristics all animals share.

Whiteboard activity with brainstorming.

Read pg 657 take notes: characteristics, body structure, and classifications. 

Highlight, write 3 questions, and write summary. 

Tuesday 2/6/2018
Survival

Topic: Survival

EQ: What functions do animals need to preform for survival?

Read and take notes pags 658-659

Wednesday 2/7/2018
Evolution

Topic: Evolution

EQ: Explain the trends in evolution

Read and take notes pgs 660-663 (have subtitles for each topic)

Thursday 2/8/2018
Sponges

Topic: Cladogram (leave this page blank)

EQ: What are themajor groups of animals and the dervided characteristics that sperate them? 

 

Topic: Sponges

EQ: Why sponges are clssified as animals and how do they carry out basic functions? 

Read and take notes pg 664-665 (with subtitles) 

Friday 2/9/2018
No school
Monday 2/12/2018
Sponges

Highlight and write questions for Evolution notes

SEc reivew pg 663 #1-6

Notes: sponges. Read pgs 664-665. 

Tuesday 2/13/2018
Sponges

Summary for evolution notes

Review sponges notes. 

Sponge mini-lab (don't need to make up)

Wednesday 2/14/2018
Sponges

Sponge color WS packets

Thursday 2/15/2018
Cnidarians

Finish notes for sponges: 

Notes: Cnidarians---be sure to get notes from a partner.

Video: 15 min on Cnidarians. 

Friday 2/16/2018
Cnidarians

Cnidarian color WS packet 

Monday 2/19/2018
No school
Tuesday 2/20/2018
Cnidarians

Finish cnidarian color WS 

Wednesday 2/21/2018
Cnidarian groups

Notes: cnidarina groups

Videos about each group

Thursday 2/22/2018
chpt 26 review

notecheck

Review pgs 679-680 #1-26, skip # 23, 25 

Friday 2/23/2018
Cnidarian and Sponge TEST

test

Monday 2/26/2018
Flatworm

Notes: Flatworm

Notes and videos

Tuesday 2/27/2018
Worms and Parasites

More than half the class is gone taking the ACT. Watch video "worms and parasites" 

Wednesday 2/28/2018
Parasitic Flatworms

Research 3 parasitic flatworms. Share info with partner and write into notes. 

Thursday 3/1/2018
roundworms

Notes: Roundworms.

compare and contrst flatworms with roundworms. 

Research/read about paractitic roundworms. 

Friday 3/2/2018
Annelids

Notes: Annelids

LAB: observe an earthworm at the lab

Monday 3/5/2018
Annelids

finish anatomy notes

video on annelids

color anatomy 

Tuesday 3/6/2018
mollusks

notes: mollusks 

Reading and coloring of mollusks 

Wednesday 3/7/2018
dissection

dissection videos

read about squid

go over lab and 10 min video looking at dissection 

Thursday 3/8/2018
squid dissection

lab 

Friday 3/9/2018
compare worms and mollusks

finish lab questions

shape of life video of mullusks

summary comparing worms and mullusks 

Monday 3/12/2018
spring break
Friday 3/16/2018
spring break
Monday 3/19/2018
mollusks

take notes from page 701-704 in notebook (under each class of mollusk)

start review pg 711 #1-31

Tuesday 3/20/2018
mollusks

REview over mollusk notes

notecheck 

reivew pg 711 #1-31

Wednesday 3/21/2018
test

worm and mollusks test

Thursday 3/22/2018
arthropods

notes: what is an arthropod

read and notes pg 716-719

Friday 3/23/2018
crustaceans

go over arthropod notes

read pg 721 crustaceans 

fill out color WS

Watch dissection videos. 

Monday 3/26/2018
crayfish LAB

LAB

Tuesday 3/27/2018
Arthropod color WS

work on anatomy WS packet. 

Wednesday 3/28/2018
Arthropod color WS

finish ws

Watch video 

Thursday 3/29/2018
compare and contrast arthropods

Read and take notes from pages 722-725. 

Compare and contast arthropods.

Read and notes on insects pgs 726-730. 

Land arthropods video. 

Friday 3/30/2018
No school
Monday 4/2/2018
No school
Tuesday 4/3/2018
metamorphosis

Notes: complete vs incomplete metamorphosis

Case STudy: silk worms

Watch videos for cricket dissection 

Wednesday 4/4/2018
Cricket LAB

Dissection lab 

Thursday 4/5/2018
Echinoderm

Research echinoderms 

Friday 4/6/2018
Echinoderm

Video on echinoderms 

Monday 4/9/2018
Echinoderm

Notes and computer research on 4 different classes 

Tuesday 4/10/2018
review

review WS 

Wednesday 4/11/2018
test

Arthrodpod and Echinoderm test 

Thursday 4/12/2018
chordates

INtro to chordates 

Video on chordates 

Friday 4/13/2018
evolution of fish

evolution of fish notes

Video of evolution of fish 

Monday 4/16/2018
fish

notes: form and function pgs 774-778,notes for each subtitle

color anatomy WS

Video on chordates 10 min. 

Tuesday 4/17/2018
Your Inner Fish

watch video and fill out WS---turn in WS 

Wednesday 4/18/2018
fish anatomy

explain what each organ does on WS

Fish Dissection videos---look over lab

Gyotaku fish print---add in external anatomy 

Thursday 4/19/2018
Fish Dissection

fish dissection 

Friday 4/20/2018
Amphibians

Evolution of amphibians reading and notes

Monday 4/23/2018
amphibians

watch invaders of land video---fill out video guide and turn in 

Tuesday 4/24/2018
evolution of amphibians

video and notes on evolution of amphibians 

Wednesday 4/25/2018
Form and function of frog

read and take note on frog anatomy

Compare fish and amphibians 

Thursday 4/26/2018
no school
Friday 4/27/2018
Frog anatomy

Frog anatomy WS

Dissection videos 

Monday 4/30/2018
fish and amphibian

Pass out papers, progress reports, notecheck

Finish frog anatomy WS and turn in

Finish chapter review pg 793 #1-30 

 

Tuesday 5/1/2018
Frog dissection

frog dissection 

Wednesday 5/2/2018
test--fish and amphibian
Thursday 5/3/2018
reptile evolution

what is a reptile

evolution of reptile notes

Friday 5/4/2018
no school
Monday 5/7/2018
reptile

Notes: form and function pg 800-82

Tuesday 5/8/2018
Inner Reptile Video

video and notes 

Wednesday 5/9/2018
Reptile

color worksheet packet 

Thursday 5/10/2018
Bird

bird color packet 

Friday 5/11/2018
Bird form and function

Bird notes 806-812

Monday 5/14/2018
bird form and function

form and function notes. 

Cornell Interactive anatomy website 

Tuesday 5/15/2018
mammal evolution

review form and function of birds

Go over evolution of mammals 

Wednesday 5/16/2018
mammal

form and function of mammal notes 

Thursday 5/17/2018
pig dissection
Friday 5/18/2018
pig dissection
Monday 5/21/2018
review
Tuesday 5/22/2018
review
Wednesday 5/23/2018
review/ exam

seniors AND periods 4 and 6 have final exams 

Thursday 5/24/2018
final exam period 5

exams for periods 1,3,5 

Friday 5/25/2018
movie

Exam was taken on Wed. Movie on Friday.